About

I’m born and raised in Antwerp, Belgium, but living in Cork, Ireland for the last six and a half years now. Mother of two little girls under the age of two. Currently on maternity leave, but working in the financial sector. In need of a creative outlet, which I hope to find by cooking and writing about it. No haute-cuisine, but wholesome straightforward family dinners. With a twist. No dairy No eggs, due to my partners food allergies.

But it will be more than just recipes. It will be about my live and work as a foreigner in Cork City. The ups and downs of being away from home. It will be about motherhood and the challenge of raising two little girls, giving them the best of two cultures, two languages, two different backgrounds to set them up to grow into young independent women one day. It will be about finding that much discussed balance between work and family. About finding time for myself in the midst of it all. But most of all, it will be a way to stay in touch with family and friends, from home and here and all over the world.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “About

    • Hands full all right, and although I was worried how I’d cope, I am actually enjoying it more this time around than when I just had my first little girl. Newborn Ava is very easy going and her sister Mia is at a great age (apart from the tantrums), starting to chat away and entertain herself. Fact that Mia is going to creche two days a week helps too. Gives her and me a break.

      Two boys must be pretty hectic too. At least they’ll be great buddies growing up together and they’ll always be able to look out for one another!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s